Published On: Wed, Dec 31st, 2014 on 1:58 am

New year honours 2015: Over 20 awards for West Yorkshire

New Year Honours Award

Over 20 people in West Yorkshire have been recognised in the Queen’s New Year Honours list for 2015.

The New Year Honours list, published today, recognises the achievements of people in many areas of public life, including sport, education, business, local government, the justice system, community services and charity fundraising.

Over 80 were recognised from the region of Yorkshire and the Humber.

Below are recipients from West Yorkshire, which includes Bradford, Calderdale, Kirklees, Leeds and Wakefield.

Commander (CBE)

  • Miss Adeeba Malik, MBE. Deputy chief executive, QED-UK. For services to Interfaith and Community Cohesion. (Bradford)

Officer (OBE)

  • Gulfaraz Ahmed. Headteacher Parkinson Lane Primary School, Halifax. For services to Education. (Huddersfield)
  • Mrs Joanne Allison Ashworth. Director of Forensic Services of East Midlands Police Forces. For services to Forensic Science. (Wakefield)
  • Francis Xavier Hester. Founder and chief executive Officer TPP. For services to Healthcare. (Leeds)
  • Mrs Susan Johnson. For services to Ladies’ Golf. (Huddersfield)
  • Keith Loudon. For services to Business and to the community in Leeds West Yorkshire. (Leeds)
  • Barrie Thomas Rutter. Founder and Artistic director Northern Broadsides. For services to Drama. (Halifax)
  • Mrs Sharon Mary White. Founding Member, School and Public Health Nurses Association. For services to Public Health Nursing for School Aged Children. (Leeds)

Member (MBE)

  • Professor Uduak Archibong. Professor of Diversity University of Bradford. For services to Higher Education and Equality. (Bradford)
  • Dr David Blackburn. Landscape Artist. For services to Art. (Huddersfield)
  • Dr Kate Miriam Granger. Trainee Doctor in Elderly Care Medicine Health Education Yorkshire and the Humber. For services to the NHS and Improving Care. (Wakefield)
  • John Maddison Hall. Chair of Trustees Hollybank Trust, West Yorkshire. For services to Children and Adults with Special Needs and Disabilities. (Wakefield)
  • David Malcolm Horsman. Chairman Mid Yorkshire Chamber of Commerce. For services to Business and the Economy in Yorkshire. (Halifax)
  • Jonathan Robert Pickles. Bradford Community Safety Inspector West Yorkshire Police. For services to Policing and the community in Bradford. (Bingley)
  • Ronald Vincent Pilkington. Group Scout Leader 17th South West Leeds Scout Group. For services to Young People. (Leeds)
  • Miss Anita Ruckledge. Lead Nurse for Dementia The Mid Yorkshire Hospitals NHS Trust. For services to Nursing. (Wakefield)
  • Ms Janet Smith. Principal Northern School of Contemporary Dance. For services to Dance. (Leeds)
  • Peter Alan Smith. Project Coordinator Tour de France, Leeds City Council. For services to Sports Development in Leeds and the Tour de France Grand Depart. (Leeds)
  • Michael Thomas Till. Operations manager Carbon Capture Pilot Plant, Ferrybridge. For services to the Energy Sector and to the community in Castleford. (Wakefield)
  • Jeffrey Utley. Committee Member Institution of Engineering and Technology. For services to Engineering in Yorkshire. (Otley)

British Empire Medal (BEM)

  • Clive Cowell. For services to the community in Allerton Bywater West Yorkshire. (Castleford)
  • Miss Olga Jennifer Hirst. For services to Calderdale Help in Bereavement and to the community. (Halifax)
  • Mrs Janet Inglis. Deputy Headteacher, Immanuel College, Bradford. For services to Education. (Leeds)
  • Mrs Brenda Swithenbank. For services to Leeds South West Trefoil Guild and to the community in Tingley, West Yorkshire. (Wakefield)
  • Jonathan Vogler. Working Parties Leader Friends of Roundhay Park. (Leeds)

About the Author

Guest Editorial

- The work of guest writers who publish original content to the Yorkshire Standard. All material is copyrighted and belongs to the Yorkshire Standard.

Leave a comment

Your comment will be approved before it is published.

Comments containing profanity, spam or web links will NOT be approved.